Book Update: Herbs

I’ve recently added 4 new books to my herbal library. These books will help me learn their uses and how to care for them.

  • Herb-A-Day by James A Duke. A bit too advanced for me. It was not what I was expecting. It talks more about the clinical/pharmaceutical side of herbs in medicine, not the herbalists usage.
  • Growing & Using Herbs Successfully. Very useful book. Good information in a concise manner and good drawings of the plants.
  • The World of Herbs & Flowers-A Guide to Growing, Preserving, Cooking, Potpourri, Sachets & Wreaths by Adelma Gernier Simmons. This small book is short and to the point. It has sharp photographs and easy to follow recipes.
  • The Herbal Tea Garden-Planning, Planting, Harvesting & Brewing. I love this book, until I read this, I didn’t know some of the various plants that can be used to make tea (truly a tisane: an infusion of herbs in boiling water). It offers herbal tea lovers a complete handbook for selecting, growing and brewing herbs, and details their reported medicinal and other salubrious qualities. There are 70 herbal tea plants discussed in this book.

I’m always on the lookout for good books to add to my library. The more useful the better. I am interested in herbs and camping currently.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Related Links:

19 Best Tea Herbs to Make a Tea Herb Garden

DYI Herbal Tea Blends

20 Of The Best Homemade Herbal Tea Recipes For Healing

 

 

Leave a comment